Songs of spring

Today’s sunshine was too inviting to not take the opportunity for a walk outside.  I headed to Vischer Ferry Nature & Historic Preserve.

I walked along the West Towpath, keeping my eyes on the red maples in hopes of seeing some blooms of its unique flowers.  No such luck.  What I did see, however, was another sign of the certainty that spring is coming…even if ever so slowly.  I saw my first great blue heron of the season!  And, I heard a single song sparrow singing its distinctive and cheerful serenade.

I then walked along East Towpath and returned to the parking lot adjoining the Whipple Bridge via the trail to Clute’s Dry Dock.  I carefully inspected each hazelnut shrub that I encountered, but none of them were displaying any of the colorful but tiny unique female flowers that are among the earliest of spring’s blooming wildflowers.  But, I did see some wood ducks and I heard yet another bird song heralding the return of spring:  that of a belted kingfisher!

Alas, be patient everyone.  We shall all be rewarded with the true return of spring…when it is good and ready to do so!

Please view my wildflower field guide for this preserve.

Happy trails!

Leave a Reply

