The cascade of blooms has begun!

The rainy weather and near absence of bright sunshine largely kept me captive inside this past week.  At last, the sun appeared on Saturday, and I spent the better part of it outdoors to catch-up on my wildflower inventories.  My how things are greening up!

I began my trek by visiting the northernmost segment of the Zim Smith Trail.  Not only was I treated to a variety of blooms, but I also added a few more species to my inventory list.  I then visited Old Iron Spring Fitness Trail and afterward rounded out my day’s assignment with a hike at the Dwaas Kill Nature Preserve.

Over the course of the day, I observed these blooms –

Foamflower

Foamflower

American Black Currant

American Black Currant

Swamp Buttercup

Swamp Buttercup

Red Baneberry

Red Baneberry

Field Pennycress

Field Pennycress

Ovate-leaved Violet

Ovate-leaved Violet

Toothwort

Toothwort

Golden Alexanders

Golden Alexanders

Dwarf Raspberry

Dwarf Raspberry

Golden Ragwort

Golden Ragwort

Wild Geranium

Wild Geranium

Garden Red Currant

Garden Red Currant

In addition, I also observed other plants in bloom; those included:

  • Wild Strawberry and Wood Strawberry
  • Wood Anemone
  • Hoary Alyssum
  • Common Blue Violet
  • Dog Violet
  • Japanese Honeysuckle
  • Coltsfoot
  • Small-flowered Crowfoot
  • Field Pussytoes
  • Apple
  • Henbit
  • Ground Ivy
  • Canada Violet
  • Early Winter Cress and Common Winter Cress
  • Thyme-leaved Sandwort
  • Thyme-leaved Speedwell
  • Pin Cherry
  • Celandine

Interested in seeing more?  Consider joining me for a Wildflower Ramble at 2pm on Saturday, May 14, as part of the 3rd Annual Open Space Day celebration in the Town of Clifton Park.

The months of May and June provide the best opportunity to view the most species of wildflowers in bloom.  I encourage you to find an opportunity each week over the next two months to visit a variety of local open space areas of your choice to enjoy the colorful array of blooms that await us.

Happy trails!

Leave a Reply

