First (skiable) snow!

At last.  The results of two snowfalls this past week accumulated a sufficient depth to prompt me to blow the dust of my pair of cross-country skis and hit the trails.  First outing of the season!

After considering several local trail choices, I selected Woodcock Preserve in the Town of Clifton Park.  These trails wander through woodlands and often provide wildlife sightings or other signs of forest critters.

I started by checking out the trail map, conveniently provided in a trailhead kiosk.20170211_110322-sample

View the trails map.

Let's go! Heading out from parking lot along White Trail.

Let’s go! Heading out from parking lot along White Trail.

20170211_110706-sample

Making my way along north boundary (on right) and open marsh (on left).

20170211_111319-sample

Critter tracks crossing Yellow Trail.  I believe these may belong to a Bobcat.

20170211_121521-sample

White Trail nearing its intersection with Red Trail near west end of preserve.

20170211_112821-sample

Making my way along Red Trail in northwest portion of preserve.

20170211_113116-sample

Oval cavity in dead tree along White Trail along west boundary of preserve. This is the work of a Pileated Woodpecker.

20170211_113337-sample

Entrance of Blue Trail off White Trail. Blue Trail explores the far southern portion of the preserve.

20170211_115537-sample

A “grove” of dried fertile fronds of Sensitive Ferns near small pond along Blue Trail.

20170211_124552-sample

Along Blue Trail at southern boundary of preserve.

I saw/heard:  American Crows, Red-bellied Woodpeckers, Hairy Woodpeckers, Tufted Titmouse, American Robins.  I also saw tracks from White-tailed Deer, Gray Squirrels, mice and Bobcat (? – see photo above).

In all, I made four trips around all of the trails for a total of approximately 8.5 miles.  During my last loop, my smartphone alerted me about a winter storm warning calling for 10-14″ of new snow between Sunday morning and sometime Monday.  Looking forward to my next outing…

Happy trails!

Leave a Reply

